Young Voices of New York

Filed under Books, Long Island

Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

  “Action Presidents#1” by Fred Van Lente was about the life of George Washington and  “Action Presidents#2”  is about the life of Abraham Lincoln.

In “Action Presidents #1,” George Washington’s dad sent him away from their plantation in Virginia to go to school in Great Britain. George Washington  returned only when his father died.

Then, leaders in the colonies found out that the French were secretly conquering parts of Canada and some parts of the Thirteen Colonies. They thought George was the right man to see what was going on. He failed, but then the English were taxing the colonists.

The colonists were so angry at how high the taxes were that they demolished a statue in honor of the King George of England. This led to the American Revolution. When the war ended, the colonies won.

The colonies declared their independence from Great Britain and  came up with rules for a president. George Washington was elected as the 1st president of the United States.

“Action Presidents #2,” by Fred Van Lente was about Abraham Lincoln. In the book, Abraham was a boy who loved to read and learn. As he grew older, his father punished him for reading so much and treated him as a slave.

As Lincoln grew older, he realized that this is how slaves feel. So he ran for president and won.

Then, the Civil War broke out. Lincoln led the Union against the Confederacy and won, so there was no slavery but still segregation.

I would recommend these books for everyone ages 7 and up because it has violence and younger kids would not be interested or would not understand what happens in the book.

I liked these books because there was a  lot of action and history. It also has lots of jokes about the presidents.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email


4 Responses to “Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2”

  1. Gwen Smith on April 17th, 2018 9:05 am

    Nice review. I like that you put little bit of George Washington and a little bit of Abraham Lincoln. I would probably be more interested in the 1st one because I’m interested in the American Revolution and the Founding Fathers.

  2. Christopher Dang on April 17th, 2018 9:47 am

    This sounds like a good book, and just by reading it, it reminds me of social studies I would like to read this book. Good job.

  3. Patrick Biondolillo on April 18th, 2018 9:29 am

    This book sounds cool! It seems a lot like a, “Diary of a Wimpy Kid, ” by Jeff Kinney book or “Big Nate,” by Lincoln Peirce style book. I love history, and I also love humorous books. Great job! 🇺🇸

  4. Elijah Rivette on April 20th, 2018 1:38 pm

    This sounds like an awesome, book I wish i could read it. I love how you did 2 reviews in one. Awesome review.

You do not need to be a contributor to comment. However, you must be younger than 14 years of age and a registered user. To register, click here to download a Parental Permission/Registration form and submit.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Navigate Right
Navigate Left
  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    Ryan Quinn and the Lion’s Claw

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    The Metropolitan Museum of Art: Egyptian Art Exhibit

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    “Lock And Key- The Downward Spiral”

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    The Queens Zoo

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2



  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    The Trials of Apollo The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    Adventures in Hawaii

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    Food Styling

  • Blogs

    Fidget Spinners

  • Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2


    Beauty and the Beast – the movie

A news site for young people across New York State up to 14 years old.
Action Presidents #1 and Action Presidents #2